The entry requirements and structure of the Honours programs varies across the departments.

If you are considering the Bachelor of Science (Degree with Honours) or Bachelor of Biomedicine (Degree with Honours) you will need to look carefully at the options available to you. Your background, research interests, program structure and location may affect your choice.

Whether or not you have the right entry requirements for a particular department’s Honours program will affect the range of choices available to you. While planning your early undergraduate years, or determining your eligibility for Honours, you need to look at the particular entry requirements of the Bachelor of Science (Degree with Honours) or Bachelor of Biomedicine (Degree with Honours) program as well as any additional requirements which exist for some Departments.

Please find the contact details of Departments/Institutes in the list below and find out as much as you can about the experience at the Departments/Institutes you are considering.

  • Choosing a Supervisor and Research Area

    A critical element of success in Honours is choosing a research area that interests you. Department websites have information on the range of research areas they offer, as well as areas of interest of academic staff members who can supervise your project.

    It is very important for you to talk to supervisors and current/previous Honours students. It’s one thing to be interested in the project but you need to get along with your supervisor too. If possible, try to get some work experience in the lab to get an idea about the environment.

    If you are passionate about a particular area that is not offered by any department don’t be afraid to approach your lecturers and tell them about your interests and research ideas. In many cases, your lecturers will be thrilled that you are interested in something and might try to design a project that meets your interests.

  • Program Structure

    The Advanced Coursework component is normally comprised of 400-level lectures and tutorials, journal clubs, literature reviews, oral presentations, and other departmental activities. The Research Project component comprises a research project in a specific area completed under the guidance of an academic who specialises in that area. The relative weightings of each of these components may vary between programs.

    You may be interested in a number of disciplines or a study area (eg molecular biology) which is offered in several departments. Looking at the structure of the program may influence your choice and it is recommended that you talk over your ideas with the department honours coordinator or your lecturers.

  • Course Requirements

    In order to be awarded an Honours qualification, students enrolled in the Bachelor of Science (Degree with Honours) or Bachelor of Biomedicine (Degree with Honours) must pass all components and obtain an overall average mark of at least 65% for both the Research Project subject and the Advanced Coursework subject. Some departments have other hurdle requirements. Refer to the departmental entries in the Honours section of the Handbook for further information.

    o    More information the Bachelor of Biomedicine (Degree with Honours) course structure is available.

    o    More information about the Bachelor of Science (Degree with Honours) course structure is available.

  • List of Departments / Institutes

    List of Departments / Institutes

    Find out as much as you can about the experience at the Departments you are considering.

    Department Location Contact Name Contact Details Email
    Anatomy & Neuroscience       On-campus       Dr Peter Kitchener       8344 6746       p.kitchener@unimelb.edu.au
    Ms Deeya Jankee       8344 7423       d.jankee@unimelb.edu.au
    Biochemistry & Molecular Biology       On-campus       Dr Justine Mintern       8344 2976       jmintern@unimelb.edu.au
    Ms Irene Koumanelis 8344 5918       i.koumanelis@unimelb.edu.au
    General Practice (Primary Care)       On-campus       Prof Meredith Temple-Smith       8344 3371       m.temple-smith@unimelb.edu.au
    Ms Weilun Nien       9035 3821       wnien@unimelb.edu.au
    Medical Biology (Walter & Eliza Hall Institute)       Off-campus       Dr Keely Bumsted-Obrien       9345 2984       bumsted-obrien@wehi.edu.au
    Kerry Ko       9345 2149       education@wehi.edu.au
    Medicine (Austin Health)       Off-campus       Dr Barbara Fam       9496 3257       bcfam@unimelb.edu.au
    Ms Jo Mayall       9496 3590       j.mayall@unimelb.edu.au
    Medicine (Royal Melbourne Hospital)       Off-campus       Dr Chris French       0427 327 505       frenchc@unimelb.edu.au
    Ms Fional Hocking       8344 5479       hocking.f@unimelb.edu.au
    Medicine (St. Vincent's Hospital)       Off-campus       Dr Amanda Edgely       9288 3275       aedgley@unimelb.edu.au
    Ms Nora Hanafi       9288 3601       kgraham@svi.edu.au
    Microbiology and Immunology       On-campus       A/Prof Scott Mueller       8344 9044       smue@unimelb.edu.au
    Prof Damian Purcell       8344 6753       dfjp@unimelb.edu.au
    Prof Katherine Kedzierska       8344 7962       kkedz@unimelb.edu.au
    Ms Melissa Hofsteter       9035 3878       m.hofsteter@unimelb.edu.au
    Optometry and Vision Sciences       On-campus       Prof Trichur Vidyasagar       8344 7004       sagar.t@unimelb.edu.au
    Dr Jia Jia Lek       8344 5156       jjlek@unimelb.edu.au
    Ms Jessie Kelly       8344 6592       optom-enquiries@unimelb.edu.au
    Oral Health Science (Dental Science)       Off-campus       Dr Laila Huq       8344 2574       laila@unimelb.edu.au
    Otolaryngology (Hearing Sciences)       Off-campus       Dr Hayden Eastwood       na       haydente@unimelb.edu.au
    Ms Nora Hanafi       9288 3601       shanafi@unimelb.edu.au
    Paediatrics       Off-campus       Prof Amanda Fosang       8341 6466       amandajf@unimelb.edu.au
    Ms Helen D’Cruz       9345 6671       helen.dcruz@rch.org.au
    Pathology       On-campus       Dr Theo Mantamadiotis       8344 5861       theom@unimelb.edu.au
    Ms Kim Williams       8344 5791       k.williams@unimelb.edu.au
    Pharmacology and Therapeutics       On-campus       Dr Graham Mackay       8344 3932       gmackay@unimelb.edu.au
    Prof Danny Hoyer       9035 7119       d.hoyer@unimelb.edu.au
    Pharmacology Information       9035 7119       pharmacology-info@unimelb.edu.au
    Physiology       On-campus       Prof Mary Wlodek       8344 8801       m.wlodek@unimelb.edu.au
    Ms Shahreen Rahman       8344 4203       rkoopman@unimelb.edu.au
    Population and Global Health       On-campus       Dr Lucio Naccarella       8344 4535       l.naccarella@unimelb.edu.au
    Elizabeth Dent       9035 6304       e.dent@unimelb.edu.au
    Psychiatry       Off-campus       Dr Chad Bousman       9035 6667       cbousman@unimelb.edu.au
    Dr Lisa Dell 9035 5959 lisa.dell@unimelb.edu.au
    Surgery (Austin Health)       Off-campus       Dr Theodora Fifis       9496 5468       tfifis@unimelb.edu.au
    Ms Jo Mayall       9496 3590       j.mayall@unimelb.edu.au

    Institutes / Centres

    Students will enrol for Honours projects from the following research institutes via one of the nominated departments listed above.

    Department

    Location

    Contact Name

    Contact Details

    Baker IDI Heart & Diabetes Institute

    Off-campus

    Ms Leonie Cullen

    Phone: 8532 1161

     

    Email: leonie.cullen@bakeridi.edu.au

    Burnet Institute

    Off-campus

    Dr Raffi Gugasyan

    Phone: 9282 2108

     

    Email: gugasyan@burnet.edu.au

    Dr Megan Lim

    Phone: 8506 2403

     

    Email: lim@burnet.edu.au

    Florey Dept. of Neuroscience & Mental Health

    Off-campus

    Dr Tom Keeble

    Phone: 9035 7748

     

    Email: thomas.keeble@florey.edu.au

    Murdoch Childrens Research Institute

    Off-campus

    Prof Amanda Fosang

    Phone: 8341 6466

    Email: amanda.fosang@mcri.edu.au

    Olivia Newton-John Cancer Research Institute

    Off-campus

    Ms Kerryn Westcott

    Phone: 9496 5512

    (formerly Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research)

     

    Email: kerryn.westcott@onjcri.org.au

    Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre

    Off-campus

    Dr Caroline Owen

    Phone: 8559 5948

    Email: Caroline.Owen@petermac.org

             

Focus on Biomedical and Health Sciences Honours

31 August – 17 October 2017

Discover the opportunities and pathways an MDHS Honours program in Biomedicine, Psychology and Oral Health can bring. Meet and speak with academic staff and students. Learn about the program and the potential opportunities and pathways it could lead to.

Further details and registration is available at the relevant event/s below.

Department

Information Session Time

Location

Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

Honours recruitment session: Friday September 8th, 1.00-2.00pm

ESJ King Lecture Theatre
Level 3
Medical Building

Honours Bio21 tours: Friday September 15th, 3.00-6.00pm

Bio21 Institute

Florey Institute of Neuroscience and Mental Health

Friday September 8th, 12.00-2.00pm

Level 5, Kenneth Myer Building, 144/30 Royal Parade, Parkville

General Practice (Primary Care)

Wednesday September 6th, 4.00-5.30pm

Boardroom, Department of General Practice, 200 Berkeley Street, Carlton

“How to Apply” MDHS Honours Information Session   

Friday September 15th, 5.00 - 6.00pm

Arts West North Wing – 153 (Forum Theatre)

Medical Biology (Walter & Eliza Hall Institute)

Wednesday September 6th, 4.00-6.00pm and Monday September 11st, 4.00-6.00pm

1G Royal Parade, Parkville

Medicine (Austin Health)

Tuesday October 17th, 2.30-3.30pm

Education Precinct foyer, Level 4 Austin Tower, Austin Hospital, Studley Road, Heidelberg

Medicine (Royal Melbourne Hospital)

Thursday August 31st, 4.00-5.30pm

Function centre , ground floor, Royal Melbourne Hospital

Medicine (St. Vincent's Hospital)

Thursday September 21st, 5.30pm

Lucy Jones Hall, Royal Victorian Eye & Ear Hospital

Microbiology and Immunology

Wednesday September 6th, 12.00-1.00pm, followed by lunch (1-2pm)

Doherty Institute Auditorium, corner of Grattan St. and Royal Parade

Oral Health Science (Dental Science)

Thursday September 14th, 10.00am-3.00pm

6th Floor meeting room, Melbourne Dental School

Paediatrics

Thursday September 7th, 5.00-7.00pm (pizza and drinks)

Murdoch Childrens Research Institute, The Royal Children’s Hospital, 50 Flemington Road, Parkville (Meet at ground floor reception of the Institute, arrival at any time during the evening is welcome )

Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre

Tuesday September 12th, 4.30 - 7.00pm

Level 7, VCCC Building, 305 Grattan Street Melbourne 3000

Pathology

Tuesday September 5th, 12.15-1.15pm followed by pizza lunch

Peter MacCallum Room, Level 4, Medical Building

Pharmacology and Therapeutics

Thursday October 5th, 4.00-6.00pm with refreshments

Department Practical Class (Room E805) Level 8 East Wing, Medical Building, Parkville

Physiology

Friday September 22nd, 1.00-2.00pm

Level 3 North, Open Prac Lab Teaching Space

Psychology

Tuesday September 19th, 6.00-7.00pm

Medley Lecture Theatre, Redmond Barry Building

Surgery (Austin Health)

Tuesday October 17th, 2.30-3.30pm

Education Precinct foyer, Level 4 Austin Tower, Austin Hospital, Studley Road, Heidelberg

 

Next : Apply Now

Have a question? Make an enquiry
Have a question? Make an enquiry

Thank you for your enquiry. One of our staff members will be in contact within the next three business days.