The entry requirements and structure of the Honours programs varies across the departments.

If you are considering the Bachelor of Science (Degree with Honours) or Bachelor of Biomedicine (Degree with Honours) you will need to look carefully at the options available to you. Your background, research interests, program structure and location may affect your choice.

Whether or not you have the right entry requirements for a particular department’s Honours program will affect the range of choices available to you. While planning your early undergraduate years, or determining your eligibility for Honours, you need to look at the particular entry requirements of the Bachelor of Science (Degree with Honours) or Bachelor of Biomedicine (Degree with Honours) program as well as any additional requirements which exist for some Departments.

Please find the contact details of Departments/Institutes in the list below and find out as much as you can about the experience at the Departments/Institutes you are considering.

  • Choosing a Supervisor and Research Area

    A critical element of success in Honours is choosing a research area that interests you. Department websites have information on the range of research areas they offer, as well as areas of interest of academic staff members who can supervise your project.

    It is very important for you to talk to supervisors and current/previous Honours students. It’s one thing to be interested in the project but you need to get along with your supervisor too. If possible, try to get some work experience in the lab to get an idea about the environment.

    If you are passionate about a particular area that is not offered by any department don’t be afraid to approach your lecturers and tell them about your interests and research ideas. In many cases, your lecturers will be thrilled that you are interested in something and might try to design a project that meets your interests.

  • Program Structure

    The Advanced Coursework component is normally comprised of 400-level lectures and tutorials, journal clubs, literature reviews, oral presentations, and other departmental activities. The Research Project component comprises a research project in a specific area completed under the guidance of an academic who specialises in that area. The relative weightings of each of these components may vary between programs.

    You may be interested in a number of disciplines or a study area (eg molecular biology) which is offered in several departments. Looking at the structure of the program may influence your choice and it is recommended that you talk over your ideas with the department honours coordinator or your lecturers.

  • Course Requirements

    In order to be awarded an Honours qualification, students enrolled in the Bachelor of Science (Degree with Honours) or Bachelor of Biomedicine (Degree with Honours) must pass all components and obtain an overall average mark of at least 65% for both the Research Project subject and the Advanced Coursework subject. Some departments have other hurdle requirements. Refer to the departmental entries in the Honours section of the Handbook for further information.

  • List of Departments / Institutes

    List of Departments / Institutes

    Find out as much as you can about the experience at the Departments you are considering.

    Department Location Contact Name Contact Details Email
    Anatomy & Neuroscience On-campus Dr Peter Kitchener 8344 6746 p.kitchener@unimelb.edu.au
    Ms Deeya Jankee 8344 7423 d.jankee@unimelb.edu.au
    Biochemistry & Molecular Biology On-campus Dr Justine Mintern 8344 2976 jmintern@unimelb.edu.au
    Ms Irene Koumanelis 8344 5918 i.koumanelis@unimelb.edu.au
    Clinical Pathology On-campus A/Prof Frederic Hollande 8559 7023 frederic.hollande@unimelb.edu.au
    Ms Kimberly Yu 8344 6579 yu.k@unimelb.edu.au
    General Practice (Primary Care) On-campus Prof Meredith Temple-Smith 8344 3371 m.temple-smith@unimelb.edu.au
    Ms Weilun Nien 9035 3821 wnien@unimelb.edu.au
    Medical Biology (Walter & Eliza Hall Institute) Off-campus Dr Keely Bumsted-Obrien 9345 2984 bumsted-obrien@wehi.edu.au
    Kerry Ko 9345 2149 education@wehi.edu.au
    Medicine (Austin Health) Off-campus Dr Barbara Fam 9496 3257 bcfam@unimelb.edu.au
    Ms Jo Mayall 9496 3590 j.mayall@unimelb.edu.au
    Medicine (Royal Melbourne Hospital) Off-campus Dr Adrian Achuthan 8344 3298 aaa@unimelb.edu.au
    Ms Kimberly Yu 8344 6579 yu.k@unimelb.edu.au
    Medicine (St. Vincent's Hospital) Off-campus Dr Amanda Edgley 9288 3275 aedgley@unimelb.edu.au
    Ms Nora Hanafi 9288 3601 kgraham@svi.edu.au
    Microbiology and Immunology On-campus A/Prof Scott Mueller 8344 9044 smue@unimelb.edu.au
    Prof Damian Purcell 8344 6753 dfjp@unimelb.edu.au
    Prof Katherine Kedzierska 8344 7962 kkedz@unimelb.edu.au
    Ms Melissa Hofsteter 9035 3878 m.hofsteter@unimelb.edu.au
    Optometry and Vision Sciences On-campus Prof Trichur Vidyasagar 8344 7004 sagar.t@unimelb.edu.au
    Dr Jia Jia Lek 8344 5156 jjlek@unimelb.edu.au
    Ms Calista Sim 9035 4137 optom-enquiries@unimelb.edu.au
    Oral Health Science (Dental Science) On-campus A/Prof Glen Scholz 9341 1545 glenms@unimelb.edu.au
    Brigitte Nguyen NA brigitte.nguyen@unimelb.edu.au
    Otolaryngology (Hearing Sciences) Off-campus Dr Hayden Eastwood na haydente@unimelb.edu.au
    Ms Nora Hanafi 9288 3601 shanafi@unimelb.edu.au
    Paediatrics Off-campus Dr Belinda McClaren 8341 6415 belinda.mcclaren@mcri.edu.au
    Ms Helen D’Cruz 9345 6671 helen.dcruz@rch.org.au
    Pathology On-campus Dr Theo Mantamadiotis 8344 5861 theom@unimelb.edu.au
    Ms Kim Williams 8344 5791 k.williams@unimelb.edu.au
    Pharmacology and Therapeutics On-campus Prof Gary Anderson 8344 8602 gpa@unimelb.edu.au
    Prof Danny Hoyer 9035 7119 d.hoyer@unimelb.edu.au
    Pharmacology Information 9035 7119 pharmacology-info@unimelb.edu.au
    Physiology On-campus Dr Angelina Y Fong 8344 6707 angelina.fong@unimelb.edu.au
    Ms Shahreen Rahman 8344 4203 rkoopman@unimelb.edu.au
    Population and Global Health On-campus Dr Lucio Naccarella 8344 4535 l.naccarella@unimelb.edu.au
    Elizabeth Dent 9035 6304 e.dent@unimelb.edu.au
    Surgery (Austin Health) Off-campus Dr Theodora Fifis 9496 5468 tfifis@unimelb.edu.au
    Ms Jo Mayall 9496 3590 j.mayall@unimelb.edu.au

    Institutes / Centres

    Students will enrol for Honours projects from the following research institutes via one of the nominated departments listed above.

    Department

    Location

    Contact Name

    Contact Details

    Baker IDI Heart & Diabetes Institute

    Off-campus

    Ms Leonie Cullen

    Phone: 8532 1161

    Email: leonie.cullen@bakeridi.edu.au

    Burnet Institute

    Off-campus

    Dr Raffi Gugasyan

    Phone: 9282 2108

    Email: gugasyan@burnet.edu.au

    Dr Megan Lim

    Phone: 8506 2403

    Email: lim@burnet.edu.au

    Florey Dept. of Neuroscience & Mental Health

    Off-campus

    Dr Tom Keeble

    Phone: 9035 7748

    Email: thomas.keeble@florey.edu.au

    Murdoch Childrens Research Institute

    Off-campus

    Dr Belinda McClaren

    Phone: 8341 6415

    Email: belinda.mcclaren@mcri.edu.au

    Olivia Newton-John Cancer Research Institute

    Off-campus

    Ms Kerryn Westcott

    Phone: 9496 5512

    (formerly Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research)

    Email: kerryn.westcott@onjcri.org.au

    Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre

    Off-campus

    Dr Caroline Owen

    Phone: 8559 5948

    Email: Caroline.Owen@petermac.org

       

Next : Apply Now

Have a question? Make an enquiry
Have a question? Make an enquiry

Thank you for your enquiry. One of our staff members will be in contact within the next three business days.